I must be getting old. Somehow, I just can’t operate a basic e-commerce form. All night, off and on, I have been doing battle with the Digital River implementation on VMWare.com, trying to avail myself of the much-publicized Cyber Monday deal on VMWare Fusion. I have reset my password at least 3 times, live-chatted with a “support” representative who immediately pawned me off on sales@vmware.com. It’s bad enough that VMWare tries to extort support fees for virtualization software during the shopping cart process ($25 to respond to one email support request? Seriously?). I shudder to think what they might try to charge me to fix this issue with me trying to give them money. E-commerce should just work. There should be no barriers to me giving you my money.

While I’m griping, I might as well also gripe that the only reason I need such a piece of software is that Intuit has seen fit not to make the Mac and Windows versions of Quicken binary-compatible, thus locking some 7 years of my financial data in a tomb with my copy of Windows XP. And no, I can’t just export the data and reimport it, since Quicken doesn’t support QIF for anything more complex than a checking or savings account and doesn’t have a clever migration assistant. Something else that doesn’t just work.

Update: Through the magic that is the Internet (and blogging), I managed to get some good customer service from VMWare, and now I have my licenses. To be honest, the discount wasn’t worth the time I spent trying to get it. What can I say, sometimes I obsess! No one at VMWare said anything, but I think we were both victims of Digital River, who for some reason is pedantic about matching phone numbers with physical locations and zip codes. Silly me… I figured if it was good enough for my bank, it should be good enough for a $40 download.

