This is a little out of the ordinary for me, but I just had to say something. I recently saw the 2009 Star Trek movie directed by J.J. Abrams. First, I am a Lost fan, and just seeing the “Bad Robot” banner gives me butterflies in my stomach. That guy is great. This Star Trek has some of the grit of Battlestar Galactica (the best Sci Fi drama since Farscape, IMHO) while maintaining the wholesome goodness of the original series and movies.

But there was a problem. The Star Trek movies’ audiences are primarily people who are both technologically savvy and, if not anal-retentive, at least have an almost obsessive-compulsive attention to detail. Okay, so full disclosure: I just described myself. And I just can’t let go of the worst set design choice in this decade: using an actual bar code scanner on the bridge of the new/original Enterprise. Don’t believe me? Take a look at this shot, particularly in the very prominent position on top of the helm, between the two bridge personnel:

Bridge of the Enterprise NCC-1701 (2009)

Bridge of the Enterprise NCC-1701 (2009)

And now, let me introduce you to the Symbol/Motorola M2000 general purpose barcode scanner:

Motorola M2000 Omnidirectional Barcode Scanner

Motorola M2000 Omnidirectional Barcode Scanner

Tell me I’m wrong! This anachronism totally blew the movie for me. I see these in department stores. I don’t want to think about buying groceries or T-shirts while I’m watching a futuristic geek-fest!

What other interesting and/or distracting props have you seen in movies?

